Is there sectional cut-off in SSC exams?

Is there sectional cut-off in SSC exams?

No, there are no sectional cut-offs in the exams conducted by the Staff Selection Commission (SSC) like the Combined Graduate Level (CGL) Exam, Combined Higher Secondary (10+2) Level (CHSL) Exam, or SI Delhi Police and CPO Exam or any other exam. It means that there won’t be separate cut-offs for Reasoning, GK, Mathematics or English sections of the exam, rather you’ll be seen how many marks you’ve got in Tier-I, Tier-II, as the case may be, adding total marks of these components.

Minimum qualifying marks in Tier-I, each Paper of Tier-II and Tier-III Examinations should be as follows:

1. UR 30%
2. OBC / EWS 25%
3. Others 20%

NOTE-I: Based on the marks scored in Tier-I Examination, candidates will be shortlisted, category-wise, to appear in Tier-II and Tier-III Examinations. Separate cut-offs will be fixed for Paper-III of Tier-II (i.e. for the post of JSO and Statistical Investigator Grade-II), Paper-IV of Tier-II (i.e. for the posts of Assistant Audit Officer and Assistant Accounts Officer) and for Paper-I + Paper-II of Tier-II (i.e. for all other posts).

NOTE-II: Based on the aggregate performance in Tier-I and Tier-II Examinations, candidates will be shortlisted for evaluation of Tier-III Examination. The candidates who are not qualified in Tier-II will not be eligible for evaluation of Tier-III and they will not be considered for further selection process.

NOTE-III: Based on the aggregate performance of qualified candidates in Tier-I, Tier-II and Tier-III Examinations, candidates will be shortlisted to appear in Document Verification and Skill Tests i.e. Computer Proficiency Test (CPT) and Data Entry Skill Test (DEST).

NOTE-IV: Skill Tests where prescribed are mandatory but qualifying in nature. If a candidate does not appear in Skill Test or fails to qualify the Skill Test, he/ she will not be eligible for the posts where CPT/ DEST are mandatory.

NOTE-V: Merit list will be prepared on the basis of overall performance of candidates in Tier-I, Tier-II and Tier-III Examinations. Final selection of candidates, in each category, will be made on the basis of aggregate marks scored by them in ‘Tier-I, Tier-II and Tier-III examinations’ and ‘preference of posts’ exercised by them.

NOTE-VI: Once the candidate has been given his/ her first available preference, as per his/ her merit, he/ she will not be considered for any other option. Candidates are, therefore, advised to exercise preference of posts very carefully. The option/ preference once exercised by the candidates will be treated as FINAL and IRREVERSIBLE. Subsequent request for change of allocation/ service by candidates will not be entertained under any circumstances/ reasons.

Previous post

Is a bank employee considered to be a central government employee?

Next post

CGL EXAM: If one skips DEST for TA or fails in it, will one be considered for other posts?

Maha Gupta

Maha Gupta

Founder of and guiding aspirants on SSC exam affairs since 2010 when objective pattern of exams was introduced first in SSC. Also the author of the following books:

1. Maha English Grammar (for Competitive Exams)
2. Maha English Practice Sets (for Competitive Exams)